The 8th Brazilian Symposium in Information and Human Language Technology



#### **Preface**

STIL is the bi-annual Language Technology event supported by the Brazilian Computer Society (SBC) and by the Brazilian Special Interest Group on Natural Language Processing. In 2011 it took place at the Federal University of Mato Grosso, in Cuiabá, MT, Brazil. The conference has a multidisciplinary nature and covers a broad spectrum of disciplines related to Human Language Technology, such as Linguistics, Computer Science, Psychology, and Information Science, among others. It aims at bringing together both academic and industry participants that work on those areas.

The topics of interest advertised in the Call for Papers centered around work in human language technology in general from perspectives as diverse as Computer Science, Linguistics and Information Science, such as text mining, written and spoken language processing, terminology, lexicology and lexicography and natural language generation. We received 58 papers from Brazil, France, Great Britain, Hong Kong, Mexico, Portugal, and Spain. Each paper was reviewed by at least three members of the Program Committee, which had 66 members from 13 countries and 44 institutions. After a rigorous reviewing process, 16 papers were selected for oral presentation (acceptance rate of 27%), and 17 papers were selected for poster presentation (including some long papers reallocated as short papers).

Besides the technical sessions with paper and poster presentations, STIL 2011 included two invited talks and two tutorials in its program. The invited speakers were Dr. Eduard Hovy (Information Sciences Institute, University of Southern California) and Dr. Christian Nunes Aranha (Technology Manager, Cortex Intelligence). The tutorials were delivered by Dr. Eduard Hovy and Clarissa Castellã Xavier (PhD Student at PUCRS).

### **General Conference Chairs**

Andreia Gentil Bonfante (IC-UFMT, Brazil) Claudia Aparecida Martins (IC-UFMT, Brazil)

## **Program Chairs**

Helena de Medeiros Caseli (UFSCar, Brazil) Lucia Specia (University of Wolverhampton, UK)

# **Local Organizing Committee**

Cristiano Maciel (UFMT, Brazil)

Elmo Batista de Faria (UFMT, Brazil)

Josiel Maimone de Figueiredo (UFMT, Brazil)

José de Paula Neves Neto (UFMT, Brazil)

Mauricio Fernando Lima Pereira (UFMT, Brazil)

Nelcileno Araújo de Souza (UFMT, Brazil)

Nielsen Cassiano Simões (UFMT, Brazil)

Roberto Benedito de Oliveira Pereira (UFMT, Brazil)

## **Program Committee**

Adam Funk (University of Sheffield, UK)

Aldebaro Klautau (UFPA, Brazil)

Aline Villavicencio (UFRGS, Brazil)

Andre Adami (Universidade de Caxias do Sul, Brazil)

António Branco (UL, Portugal)

Bento Carlos Dias da Silva (UNESP, Brazil)

Carlos Areces (Loria, France)

Carlos Augusto Prolo (PUCRS, Brazil)

Carlos Ynoguti (Instituto Nacional de Telecomunicações, Brazil)

Caroline Hagege (Xerox Research, France)

Cassia Troahn dos Santos (INRIA Rhone-Alpes, France)

Clarissa Xavier (PUCRS, Brazil)

Claudia Zavaglia (UNESP, Brazil)

Constantin Orasan (University of Wolverhampton, UK)

Daniel Nehme Muller (UFRGS, Brazil)

David Tomás (Universidad de Alicante, Spain)

Diana Santos (Universidade de Oslo, Noruega e Linguateca/FCCN, Portugal)

Eraldo Fernandes (Instituto Federal de Educação, Brazil)

Fábio Violaro (UNICAMP, Brazil)

Fernando Resende (UFRJ, Brazil)

Gabriel Infante López (UNC, Argentine)

Gabriel Lopes (UNL, Portugal)

Horacio Rodriguez (Universidad Politecnica de Catalunya, Spain)

Horacio Saggion (University Pompeu Fabra - Spain)

Ivandré Paraboni (USP/EACH, Brazil)

Ivandro Sanches (FEI, Brazil)

Jean-Luc Minel (Université de Paris X, France)

João Luís Garcia Rosa (USP/ICMC, Brazil)

Joaquim Ferreira da Silva (UNL, Portugal)

Jorge Baptista (UALG/L2F-INESC-ID Lisboa)

Juan Manuel Torres Moreno (Université d'Avignon, France)

Laura Alonso Alemany (UNC, Argentine)

Laura Hasler (University of Strathclyde, UK)

Leandro Wives (UFRGS, Brazil)

Lucelene Lopes (PUCRS, Brazil)

Luciana Benotti (UNC, Argentine)

Manuel Palomar (Universidad de Alicante, Spain)

Marcelo Finger (USP/IME, Brazil)

Maria José Finatto (UFRGS, Brazil)

Michel Gagnon Ecole (Polytechnique, Canada)

Mikel Forcada (Universidad de Alicante, Spain)

Nelson Neto (UFPA, Brazil)

Nuno Mamede (IST-UTL/L2F-INESC-ID Lisboa)

Pablo Gamallo (Universidade de Santiago de Compostela, Spain)

Palmira Marrafa (UL, Portugal)

Paloma Moreda (Universidad de Alicante, Spain)

Renata Vieira (PUCRS, Brazil)

Renato Rocha Souza (FGV-RJ, Brazil)

Ronaldo Teixeira Martins (UNIVÁS, Brazil)

Rove Chishman (UNISINOS, Brazil)

Sandra M. Aluísio (USP/ICMC, Brazil)

Sérgio de Freitas (UNB, Brazil)

Silvia Maria Wanderley Moraes (PUCRS, Brazil)

Sofia Angeletou (Open Unversity, UK)

Stanley Loh (UCPEL, Brazil)

Ted Pedersen (University of Minnesota, USA)

Thais Cristófaro Silva (UFMG, Brazil)

Thamar Solorio (University of Alabama at Birmingham, USA)

Thiago A. S. Pardo (USP/ICMC, Brazil)

Tracy Holloway King (Microsoft, USA)

Valéria D. Feltrim (UEM/Maringá, Brazil)

Valia Kordoni (German Research Centre for Artificial Intelligence (DFKI GmbH) & Saarland

University, Germany)

Vera Lucia Strube de Lima (PUCRS, Brazil)

Violeta Quental (PUC-Rio, Brazil)

Viviane Moreira (UFRGS, Brazil)

Wilker Aziz (University of Wolverhampton, UK)

## **Brazilian Special Interest Group on Natural Language Processing**

Thiago A. S. Pardo (USP/ICMC, Brazil)

Renata Vieira (PUCRS, Brazil)

Aline Villavicencio (UFRGS, Brazil)

Helena M. Caseli (UFSCar, Brazil)

Caroline V. Gasperin (USP/ICMC, Brazil)