Foreword

The 32nd Pacific Asia Conference on Language, Information and Computation (PACLIC) was held at The Hong Kong Polytechnic University on December 1-3, 2018, in conjunction with the 25th Joint Workshop on Linguistics and Language Processing (JWLLP) and the 5th Workshop on Asian Translation (WAT). JWLLP was held as a special session within PACLIC, and WAT was held separately at the same time as PACLIC. One of the goals of PACLIC is to emphasize and foster interdisciplinary cross-talk between linguistic and computational research. For example, while the papers presented at that conference can roughly be categorized into "linguistic" and "computational" papers, the conference organizers intentionally avoided arranging them into "linguistic" and "computational" sessions; rather, almost all the oral and poster sessions were arranged to include both types of papers, to create more opportunities for people of these backgrounds to learn about one another's work.

We received 194 submissions from around the world for PACLIC-32, JWLLP-25 and WAT-5 together. For the main conference and JWLLP workshop, 57 papers (32.2%) were accepted for oral presentations and 50 (28.2%) for poster presentations; for WAT-5 workshop, 17 papers were accepted. For these papers, we received reviews from over 180 ad-hoc reviewers outside of the programme committee (plus reviews from members of the programme committee). We would like to express our sincere gratitude to all the authors who submitted their work and to all the reviewers who volunteered their time for reviewing. Without you, this conference could not have been possible.

We were also fortunate to have keynote talks by Laurent Prévot (Aix Marseille Université), Emily M. Bender (University of Washington), and Alan C. L. Yu (University of Chicago), as well as invited talks by Helen Mei-Ling Meng (University of Hong Kong), Yashuhiro Katagiri (Future University Hakodate), Qi Su (Peking University), and Thi Minh Huyen Nguyen (VNU University of Science). Finally, we would like to thank the PACLIC Steering Committee and the local co-chairs (David C. S. Li, Qin Lu, and Hans J. Ladegaard) for their support.

> Chu-ren Huang & Min Zhang (Programme Committee Honorary Chairs) Yu-Yin Hsu & Guohong Fu (Programme Committee Chairs) The PACLIC 32 Programme Committee

Reviewers for PACLIC and JWLLP

Kathleen Ahrens Alice Mae M. Arbon Wirote Aroonmanakun Laurent Besacier Philippe Blache Allan Bravo Borra Marut Buranarach Damir Cavar Yung-Hsiang Shawn Chang Alvin Cheng-Hsien Chen Chun-Yin Doris Chen Kuang-Hua Chen Lyu Chen Oian Chen Qincai Chen Si Chen Chengyao Chen Charibeth Cheng Emmanuele Chersoni Candice Cheung Sung-Kwon Choi Eunjin Chun Jin-Woo Chung Siaw-Fong Chung Katrina Connell Volker Dellwo Hongwei Ding Xiao Ding Youngah Do Li Dong Sicong Dong Jianyong Duan Jianyong Duan Astrid Ensslin Alex Fang Guohong Fu Helena Gao Thomas Grano Yanhui Gu Yasunari Harada Choochart Haruechaiyasak Kiyota Hashimoto Jeffery Holliday Munpyo Hong I-Ta Chris Hsieh Miao-Ling Hsieh Shu-Kai Hsieh Hsu-Wen Huang **Jiangping Huang**

Rui-heng Ray Huang Joel Ilao Suyueon Im Peng Jin Tomoyuki Kajiwara Xiaohua Ke Ji-Hye Kim Jongbok Kim Sunghwan Mac Kim Natalia Klyueva Mamoru Komachi Fang Kong Valia Kordoni Pei-Jung Kuo Oi Yee Kwong Huei-Ling Lai Olivia Lam Albert Lee Peppina Lee Yong-Hun Lee Sang-im Lee-Kim Baoli Li Dong Li Fei Li Junhui Li Ru Li Wenjie Li Zhenghua Li Shuilong Liang Wei-wen Roger Liao Dongsik Lim Jingxia Lin Yuhan Lin **Bingquan** Liu Chao-Lin Liu Jiangming Liu Jyi-Shane Liu Kang Liu Meichun Liu Te-Hsin Liu Yijia Liu Yunfei Long Lu Lu Oin Lu Wei Lu Yu-an Lu Minh-Thang Luong Chen Lyu Yajuan Lyu

Xingcheng Ma Erlyn Manguilimotan Yuji Matsumoto Fandong Meng Yoshiki Mori James Myers Natchanan Natpratan Ponrudee Netisopakul Jian-Yun Nie Nathaniel Oco Ethel Ong Chutamanee Onsuwan Yohei Oseki Ryo Otoguro Jong C. Park Stephen Politzer-Ahles Nattama Pongpairoj Haoliang Oi Tao Qian Zhen Qin Xipeng Qiu Yafeng Ren Jr. Callanta Raga Rodolfo Luke Rudge Pavel Rychl Byong-Rae Ryu Jing Shao Liang Shuailong Shu-Ing Shyu Melanie Siegel Pornsiri Singhapreecha Wei Song Virach Sornlertlamvanich Keh-Yih Su Chengjie Sun Leif Romeritch Syliongka Tianyong Tak-Sum Wong Zhi Tang Hongyin Tao Qian Tao Zhiyang Teng Satoshi Tomioka Ming-Feng Tsai Yuen-Hsien Tseng Aline Villavicencio Itamar Kastner Wang YuChun Wang Zhongqing Wang Zhongyu Wei

Tak-Sum Wong Dekai Wu Chen-hui Wu Doreen Wu Jiun-Shiung Wu Ming Xiang Shufeng Xiong Hongzhi Xu Ruifeng Xu Nianwen Xue Yun Xue Cheng-Zen Yang Chung-Lin Martin Yang Jie Yang Liner Yang Muyun Yang Foongha Yap Satoru Yokoyama James Hye Suk Yoon Alan Yu Liang-Chih Yu Xue Yun Hongying Zan Caicai Zhang Chengzhi Zhang Jiajun Zhang Meishan Zhang Niina Ning Zhang Peng Zhang Hai Zhao Deyu Zhou Hao Zhou Junsheng Zhou Muhua Zhu Michael Zock