Preface to the Student Research Workshop Proceedings

On behalf of the Program Committee, we are pleased to present the proceedings of the Student Research Workshop at ACL-03, the 41st Meeting of the Association for Computational Linguistics in Sapporo, Japan. This is the fourth time that the Student Session at ACL is organized in the form of a workshop, and it is the 13th ACL Student Session. This year, the Student Research Workshop hosts 12 presentations of high-quality full-length papers. After each presentation, a panel of senior researchers will provide detailed comments and feedback on the work. We would like to thank the panelists in advance.

This year, we received 31 submissions from 15 different countries. The submissions were generally on a very high standard, which made the reviewing and selection process quite difficult. We would like to thank everyone who submitted to the workshop. We would also like to thank the Program Committee for their time and effort as well as for their valuable comments.

Student Members of the Program Committee:

Slaven Bilac, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan Marine Carpuat, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Hong Kong Hoojung Chung, Korea University, Korea Ji Donghong, Institute of Infocomm Reseach, Singapore Ariadna Font Llitjós, Carnegie Mellon University, USA Hisanori Furumaki, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan Julia Hockenmaier, University of Pennsylvania, USA / University of Edinburgh, Scotland Krasimira Ivanova, Bulgarian Academy of Sciences, Bulgaria Martin Jansche, The Ohio State University, USA Nobuhiro Kaji, The University of Tokyo, Japan Hannah Kermes, University of Stuttgart, Germany Sang-Bum Kim, Korea University, Korea Yoji Kiyota, The University of Tokyo, Japan Taku Kudo, Nara Institute of Science and Technology, Japan Koji Murakami, Hokkaido University, Japan Hong I Ng, National University of Singapore, Singapore Constantin Orasan, University of Wolverhampton, UK Noah Smith, Johns Hopkins University, USA Kristina Striegnitz, Saarland University, Germany Mary D. Taffet, Syracuse University, USA Mineki Takechi, FUJITSU Ltd. / Nara Institute of Science and Technology, Japan Vivian Tsang, University of Toronto, Canada Tylman Ule, University of Tübingen, Germany

Non-student Members of the Program Committee:

Regina Barzilay, Cornell University, USA Thorsten Brants, Google, USA Baobao Chang, Peking University, China Huang Chu-Ren, Academia Sinica, Taiwan Hervé Déjean, XRCE, France Jianfeng Gao, Microsoft Research Asia, China Iryna Gurevych, European Media Laboratory, Germany Daisuke Kawahara, The University of Tokyo, Japan Alistair Knott, University of Otago, New Zealand Anna Korhonen, University of Cambridge, UK Lothar Lemnitzer, University of Tübingen, Germany Deryle Lonsdale, Brigham Young University, USA Edson T. Miyamoto, Nara Institute of Science and Technology, Japan Diego Mollá Aliod, Macquarie University, Australia Petya Osenova, Bulgarian Academy of Sciences / The Sofia University, Bulgaria Gerald Penn, University of Toronto, Canada Bill Raymond, The Ohio State University, USA Kiyoaki Shirai, Japan Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, Japan Virach Sornlertlamvanich, NECTEC, Thailand Oliver Streiter, EURAC, European Academy, Italy Naoyoshi Tamura, Yokohama National University, Japan Dan Tufis, Romanian Academy of Sciences, Romania Hui Wang, Peking University, China Janyce Wiebe, University of Pittsburgh, USA Maria Wolters Rhetorical Systems, Scotland

We would like to thank Alexander Koller and Gideon Mann, the chairs of the Student Research Workshop at ACL-NAACL 2002 in Pittsburgh, PA, for sharing with us their invaluable experience. We would also like to thank Malte Gabsdil, the co-chair of the Student Research Workshop at EACL 2003 in Budapest, Hungary, for providing us with an electronic submission system, which helped us immensely with the submission process. Our deep gratitude goes to Chris Brew, our faculty advisor, for his constant and reliable guidance and for securing student funding. Finally, we would like to thank the officers from ACL and the conference organizers for their help, in particular Kenji Araki, Sandra Carberry, Erhard Hinrichs, Sadao Kurohashi, Kathy McCoy, Masaki Murata, John Nerbonne, Dan Roth, Jun-ichi Tsujii, Eiko Yamamoto, and David Yarowsky.

ACL-03 Student Research Workshop Co-Chairs: Kotaro Funakoshi, *Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan* Sandra Kübler, *University of Tübingen, Germany* Jahna Otterbacher, *University of Michigan, USA*