Under other business, Stephen Cushing presented a motion that the Chapter should take a stand against the involvement of the U.S. Government in El Salvador. Walker pointed out that constitutionally the meeting could not take a binding vote on such an issue. He questioned whether the ACL should take a position on this kind of issue, and recommended that members should do so as individuals if they wished. Other members felt that this particular issue was not relevant to computational linguistics as such. It was

ACL INTERNATIONAL FUND

At its Executive Committee meeting in Toronto on 19 June 1982, the ACL established the "ACL International Fund." Its primary purpose is to make ACL memberships and publications available to colleagues who have difficulties in using their national currencies for international transactions. During 1982 and 1983, the Fund received \$2533.25 in contributions; expenses amounted to approximately \$2000. Since we are in the process of expanding the number of members in this category, we are very much in need of additional contributions. The list that follows identifies people who contributed during 1982 and 1983. It is presented here both to express our appreciation and to encourage members to continue to support the fund. If you have contributed during this period and your name is not listed, please contact the Secretary-Treasurer and accept his apologies for the omission. While we would welcome larger contributions, small ones can accumulate very rapidly. We anticipate serving about 100 International Fund members by the end of the year. If we provide memberships to all and proceedings to at least the major institutions and laboratories, the cost will be approximately \$2000. Contributions of \$4 each from 500 of our members would provide that amount. Please contribute what you can. The dues statement provides a place for doing that, but you can send a check to the Secretary-Treasurer made out to the ACL International Fund at any time. His address is located on the back cover.

1982-1983 CONTRIBUTORS

- **\$100 or more:** James Cretsos, Aravind Joshi, Beatrice Oshika, Norm Sondheimer, Don Walker.
- **\$50-\$100:** Barbara Grosz, Hiroshi Matsuoka, Barbara Partee, George Peck, Jane Robinson, Karen Sparck Jones, Fred and Bozena Thompson.

also felt by some that it was undesirable for the ACL to be seen to be overtly political, especially as this might make it even more difficult for members from certain countries to participate in its activities. The motion was ruled out of order, and it was agreed that those interested would met to discuss the matter as individuals, but that the Association would take no official stand.

> Harry Somers Chapter Secretary

- \$25-\$50: Lyn Bates, Veronica Bonebrake, Paul Chapin, Thaddeus Floryan, Philip Gleason, George Heidorn, Graeme Hirst, Jerry Kaplan, Richard Kittredge, Johanna Nichols, Paul Orgren, Ray Perrault, Stan Petrick, Hood Roberts, Naomi Sager, Jonathan Slocum, Brian Smith, Stuart Shapiro, Henry Thompson, Ralph Weischedel, Lotfi Zadeh.
- \$10-\$25: R. Adams, Robert Archer, Stephanie August, Frederick Bart, John Carroll, Steve Chandler, Phil Cohen, Edward Coyne, David Cranmer, Deborah Dahl, Fred Damerau, Donald Elliott, Martha Evens, Dick Fredericksen, Gerald Gazdar, Fernando Gomez, Charles Gribble, Carole Hafner, Diane Hoffman, Christopher Hume, David Israel, Jean-Claude Jequier, Michael Kac, Iris Kameny, Han-Kon Kim, Sitaram Lanka, Hubert Lehmann, Filip Machi, Jim McCawley, Michael McCord, Roland McKenney, Alan Melby, Igor Mel'cuk, Sarah Metcalfe, Doug Moran, Allen Munro, Richard Oehrle & Susan Steele, Rebecca Perez, Brian Phillips, Stan Rosenschein, Sharon Salveter, Leonard Shaefer, Roger Schank, Michael Sherman, Candace Sidner, David Trawick, George Vladutz, Dave Waltz, Bonnie Webber, Kenneth Wexler, Sho Yoshida.
- Less than \$10: Daniel Beeghly, Laurent Bourbeau, B. Chandrasekaran, David Copp, Marc Dymetman, Marc Eisinger, Sheila Embleton, Manfred Gehrke, Kevin Gross, Raymond & Mary Ann Gumb, Norman Haas, Henry Hamburger, Elizabeth Hinkelman, ISSCO, Gilbert Krulee, Paul Lustgarten, Bradford Miller, Makato Nagao, Michael Pazzani, Warren Plath, Stephen Pulman, Kevin Reilly, Charles Restivo Sabine Rohlfs, Richard Sansom, Bob Simmons, John Charles Smith, Peter Smith, Harry Somers, Edward Stull, John Tait, Wayne Tosh, Marc Vilain, Bob Wallace, David HD Warren, Arnold Zwicky.