EACL 2017

European Chapter of the Association for Computational Linguistics

Proceedings of the Student Research Workshop

April 3-7, 2017

©2017 The Association for Computational Linguistics

Order copies of this and other ACL proceedings from:

Association for Computational Linguistics (ACL) 209 N. Eighth Street Stroudsburg, PA 18360 USA Tel: +1-570-476-8006 Fax: +1-570-476-0860 acl@aclweb.org

ISBN 978-1-945626-37-1

Introduction

Welcome to the EACL 2017 Student Research Workshop (SRW).

Following previous Student Research Workshops, this year we have two different kinds of submissions: research papers and thesis proposals. Thesis proposals are intended for advanced students who have decided on a thesis topic and wish to get feedback on their proposal and broader ideas for their continuing work, while research papers can describe completed work or work in progress with preliminary results.

We received 10 thesis proposals and 25 research papers this year. Out of these, we accepted 2 thesis proposals and 10 research papers, leading to an acceptance rate of 20% for thesis proposals and 40% for research papers.

All the papers will be presented at the main conference poster session, giving the opportunity for students to interact and present their work to a large and diverse audience.

In addition to this, each accepted SRW paper is assigned a dedicated mentor. The mentor is an experienced researcher from academia or industry who will prepare in-depth comments and questions in advance of the poster session and will provide feedback to the student author.

This year, EACL awarded travel grants to 13 students who were presenting their work either in the SRW or in the main conference. We received a total of 27 applications for studentships, meaning that 48% of them were accepted after a competitive selection process.

We are very grateful to our program committee members who gave constructive and detailed reviews for each of the student papers. We would also like to acknowledge researchers who agreed to mentor and provide expert feedback on the student papers. Many thanks to our faculty adviser Barbara Plank for her invaluable guidance, as well as the EACL 2017 organizing committee for their constant support and suggestions. Finally, we thank all students for their submissions and participation in the SRW.

John J. Camilleri Mariona Coll Ardanuy Uxoa Iñurrieta Florian Kunneman

Organizers:

John J. Camilleri (University of Gothenburg) Mariona Coll Ardanuy (University of Göttingen) Uxoa Iñurrieta (University of the Basque Country) Florian Kunneman (Radboud University)

Faculty advisor:

Barbara Plank (University of Groningen)

Mentoring:

Chloé Braud (University of Copenhagen) Grzegorz Chrupala (University of Tilburg) Tommaso Fornaciari (Università di Trento) Alexander Gelbukh (Instituto Politécnico Nacional) Ivan Habernal (Technische Universität Darmstadt) Claudia Hauff (Delft University of Technology) Dirk Hovy (University of Copenhagen) Maarten Marx (Universiteit van Amsterdam) Vincent Ng (University of Texas at Dallas) Ted Pedersen (University of Minnesota) Massimo Poesio (University of Essex) Anders Soegaard (University of Copenhagen)

Program Committee:

Željko Agić (IT University Copenhagen) Héctor Martínez Alonso (INRIA - Paris 7) Yoav Artzi (Cornell University) Yonatan Bisk (University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign) Gosse Bouma (University of Groningen) António Branco (University of Lisbon) Shu Cai (University of Southern California) Monojit Choudhury (Microsoft Research India) Orphee Declerq (University College Ghent) Simon Dobnik (University of Gothenburg) Marieke van Erp (VU University Amsterdam) Kilian Evang (University of Groningen) Thomas François (UC Louvain) Michael Gamon (Microsoft) Alexander Gelbukh (Instituto Politécnico Nacional) Debanjan Ghosh (Rutgers University) Kevin Gimpel (Toyota Technological Institute at Chicago) Mena Habib (Maastricht University) Eva Hasler (University of Cambridge) Claudia Hauff (Delft University of Technology) Lars Hellan (Norwegian University of Science and Technology) Iris Hendrickx (Radboud University) Dirk Hovy (University of Copenhagen) Anders Johannsen (Apple) Richard Johannsen (University of Gothenburg) Ehsan Khoddammohammadi (University of Amsterdam) Philipp Koehn (Johns Hopkins University (DOUBLE)) Daniel de Kok (University of Tübingen) Varada Kolhatkar (University of Toronto) Yannis Korkontzelos (Edge Hill University) Staffan Larsson (University of Gothenburg) Lori Levin (Carnegie Mellon University) Junyi Jessy Li (University of Pennsylvania) Peter Ljunglöf (Chalmers University of Technology) Shervin Malmasi (Harvard Medical School) Daniel Marcu (University of Southern California) Thomas Meyer (Google Zurich) Taesun Moon (IBM Research) Alessandro Moschitti (Qatar Computing Research Institute) Graham Neubig (Carnegie Mellon University) Vincent Ng (University of Texas at Dallas) Kemal Oflazer (Carnegie Mellon University Qatar) Yannick Parmentier (University of Orléans) Ted Pedersen (University of Minnesota Duluth) Nanyun Peng (Johns Hopkins University) Preethi Raghavan (IBM TJ Watson Research Center) Robert Remus (University of Leipzig) Michael Roth (University of Edinburgh) Satoshi Sekine (New York University) Kairit Sirts (Tallinn University of Technology) Swapna Somasundaran (ETS) Richard Sproat (Google) Keh-Yih Su (Academia Sinica) Christoph Teichmann (University of Potsdam) Jesús Calvillo Tinoco (University of Saarland) Eva Maria Vecchi (University of Cambridge) Suzan Verberne (Radboud University) Nina Wacholder (Rutgers University) William Yang Wang (Carnegie Mellon University)

Bonnie Webber (University of Edinburgh) Travis Wolfe (John Hopkins University) Bishan Yang (Carnegie Mellon University) Meishan Zhang (Singapore University of Technology and Design) Yuan Zhang (Massachusetts Institute of Technology) Yue Zhang (Singapore University of Technology and Design)

Conference Program

- 17:30–19:30 *Pragmatic descriptions of perceptual stimuli* Emiel van Miltenburg
- 17:30–19:30 *Replication issues in syntax-based aspect extraction for opinion mining* Edison Marrese-Taylor and Yutaka Matsuo
- 17:30–19:30 *Discourse Relations and Conjoined VPs: Automated Sense Recognition* Valentina Pyatkin and Bonnie Webber
- 17:30–19:30 *Deception detection in Russian texts* Olga Litvinova, Pavel Seredin, Tatiana Litvinova and John Lyell
- 17:30–19:30 A Computational Model of Human Preferences for Pronoun Resolution Olga Seminck and Pascal Amsili
- 17:30–19:30 *Automatic Extraction of News Values from Headline Text* Alicja Piotrkowicz, Vania Dimitrova and Katja Markert
- 17:30–19:30 Assessing Convincingness of Arguments in Online Debates with Limited Number of Features
 Lisa Andreevna Chalaguine and Claudia Schulz
- 17:30–19:30 Zipf's and Benford's laws in Twitter hashtags José Alberto Pérez-Melián, J. Alberto Conejero and Cesar Ferri Ramírez
- 17:30–19:30 *A Multi-aspect Analysis of Automatic Essay Scoring for Brazilian Portuguese* Evelin Amorim and Adriano Veloso
- 17:30–19:30 *Detecting spelling variants in non-standard texts* Fabian Barteld
- 17:30–19:30 Literal or idiomatic? Identifying the reading of single occurrences of German multiword expressions using word embeddings Rafael Ehren
- 17:30–19:30 *Evaluating the Reliability and Interaction of Recursively Used Feature Classes for Terminology Extraction* Anna Hätty, Michael Dorna and Sabine Schulte im Walde